Charmode Nuback Info??

Elle Miles

Registered Guest
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

Hi! I'm new to the platform, and my name is Elle. I'm studying for a Ph.D. in fashion history/historic textile conservation. I also wear vintage daily. I'm posting this to ask about the Charmode Nuback from Sears Roebuck and Co. I checked the VFG label resource and scoured the Internet but could not find anything on this garment or its tags. It is deadstock, to me it seems 50s but I really need more info. If anyone knows anything, your knowledge would be greatly appreciated. ☺️ Happy to provide more photos and info.

Last edited:
I think your Charmode NuBack is the same one in this Nov 1951 Sears ad. Note that the one in the ad has the same two triangular gores on the bottom front, the same front zipper and on the back (as seen in the little inset sketch in the upper left), the same triangular gore in the top middle of the back, apparently the same shirring on the sides, the same unembellished cups in the bra, which has a bit of lace on top, and the ad mentions the same 'sliding back' feature. Note, too, that this small bit of the ad is posted here for educational purposes and must not be reprinted elsewhere:

CharmodeNuBackAdNov1951Clip.jpg

Last edited:
Victoria, after I read your post I found myself wondering about it...for a long time afterwards. However in the world did you learn about those tags? How did you know the name? I didn't know they even had a name. How did you know when they first appeared? Fascinating...

agree and also impressed and wondering!

Victoria, after I read your post I found myself wondering about it...for a long time afterwards. However in the world did you learn about those tags? How did you know the name? I didn't know they even had a name. How did you know when they first appeared? Fascinating...