help dating mary quant blouse

rarebirdvintage

Registered Guest
hello all... recently bought a mary quant blouse on ebay that was described as being from the 60s... but now that i have it i'm not so sure. the specific MQ label on the shirt is not in the label resource. it looks new. any thoughts on the date of this piece? thanks so much in advance.

Attachments

• mary quant.jpg
    mary quant.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 399
that exact label may not be in the resource but if you compare them, the font is the same as the 80s example, and the little flower looks to be the same too

quant9.jpg

my vote is that its a little later and not the original debut of Mary Quant - but the experts will certainly come along soon as I am not a real expert.

i have a hard time telling the colorway - which photo is accurate - is it brighter or more like the second photo?

the first photo is the colorway of a suitcase my mom had that she got in 1970-71 actually but that doesn't mean much because there was sort of a revival of it later as well.

the second photo shows the colors more accurately... they are not bright and vivid.. more muted... just found that the tag has international care symbols so it has to be older than the 60s...

last week i was in a charity shop and they were trying to selling a mary quant dress as 60's but it was no way that old... plus the label was like the 80's one....i think as the name is associated with the 60's big time... people automatically think 60's when they hear or see the name mary quant...

as for your blouse i would def say 80's as those sleeves ....and the wide stripes were in ( i had a few pinifore dresss and wacky blouses with those types of sleeves....)

edit.... thinking back i think it was mid to late 80's