Schiaparelli Hat - Date?

Helen Siwak

Registered Guest
Hello Everyone!

Had an amazing weekend thrifting. Have searched for a directory of Schiaparelli headwear and am defeated trying to find this hat. The label appears to be 1950's? How can this style be described? There is also a small worn spot where the felt has been pulled but not a through and through hole. Should it be repaired then marketed or is it more valuable in its current condition? Also, who would you trust to do such a repair? This piece is full of so many questions!

Best wishes,

Helen
DSCN9970.JPG
View attachment 22326
DSCN9972.JPG
DSCN9993.JPG
DSCN9974.JPG
DSCN9992.JPG

Very nice hat. I am not an expert on hats by any means so please wait for one of our hat experts to come along but when I saw your hat it reminded me of one I had seen in the 60s section of the book Vintage Hats & Bonnets 1770-1970 by Susan Langley. She describes the hat she shows which is a Charo hat as being a turban-beret-toqueish hat. The hat I am showing is not exactly the same but looks similar to me but again, please wait for one of our hat experts to come along who may offer better input.

image-61.jpeg

image-62.jpeg

It is very difficult to date the hat because it is not on your mannequin head correctly. The label always goes to the back of the head, so the bow should be at the back. Does the crown pouf up into a bubble shape, or is it stitched into the squashed shape you show? If it forms a bubble, it is likely from the 60s, but we will need to see different photos to be able to tell.

Hi,